Today is Denim Friday in Dowdy-land

Demin Friday is more or less what you think it is. It’s not quite “jeans Friday”. It is the only day one can wear denim. No denim skirts, no denim blazers, no denim trousers are allowed on any other day. Rumor has it that the minions were once required to pay a $5 fee (allegedly donated to charity) for the privilege of participating in this noble endeavor.

It’s hot today so I am wearing what could be described as a subtly tie-dyed cotton skirt and fluffy/girly t-shirt and awful low heeled “work” sandals from 1999. I do a lot of 90s recycling here.

As I was walking in, I was extremely jealous. I saw a woman in cut off sweats, a hoodie style t-shirt and wedge flip-flops! I want to wear wedge flip-flops again! VERY BADLY! I would NEVER wear cut off sweats, even though my beloved former place of techtertainment employment had no dress code – although these were oddly neat and well-fitting. However, I am tired of only being able to wear clothes that kind of say “me” on Friday or at least “2013 me with a dash of 1999 still forced to wear business casual me”

Leave a comment